Pincay Award Moves to Del Mar

DEL MAR, Calif. (July 3, 2014) -- The Laffit Pincay, Jr. Award, established at Hollywood Park in 2004 and carried forward by the Hall of Fame rider over the next 10 years, will continue at Del Mar this summer when it is presented by Pincay on Sunday, July 27.

The prestigious award honors someone or some organization that has served racing with integrity, dedication, determination and distinction. Previously, the recipient was selected by Pincay in conjunction with officials at the now-closed Hollywood Park. Starting this year, the former rider and officials of the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club will choose a worthy winner.

“When Hollywood closed, I wasn’t sure what was going to happen with my award,” said the 67-year-old Panamanian who finished his illustrious riding career with 9,530 winners. “But then the people at Del Mar contacted me and said they’d love to have me keep it alive and bring it to their track. The award is meant as an honor for special people in our sport, so, naturally, I was glad to.”

The most recent winner of the Laffit Pincay, Jr. Award was fellow Hall of Fame jockey Eddie Delahoussaye. Previous winners include Jerry and Ann Moss, the Oak Tree Racing Association, Pete Pedersen and brothers Warren and Mel Stute.

Pincay’s rich history in the game extended from coast to coast during his 39 years in the saddle, but was primarily made in Southern California, including 27 summers at Del Mar. He is the seaside track’s leading rider with 1,011 victories, a standard that may never be broken. He also was the track’s riding champion on five occasions and won 96 of its stakes races. He retired in 2003 at the age of 56.

Among his many honors were five Eclipse Awards as America’s top rider, seven years as the leading rider for purses won, career leader in victories at Santa Anita and Hollywood Park and a list of star racehorses that rivals any rider’s in history.

“This is truly an honor for Del Mar to be associated with an individual of class and distinction like Laffit,” said Joe Harper, Del Mar’s president and CEO. “His award and what it stands for is an example of all that is good in racing and we’re delighted to give it – and him – a new home at our racetrack.”

The award will be presented in a special winner’s circle ceremony between races on July 27. An announcement of the winner will be made in the week prior to the event.

The list of Laffit Pincay, Jr. Award winners follows:
2013 -- Eddie Delahoussaye
2012 -- John Harris
2011 -- Jerry and Ann Moss
2010 -- Oak Tree Racing Association
2009 -- Merlin Volzke
2008 -- Pete Pedersen
2007 -- Elwood W. “Bud” Johnston
2006 -- Mel and Warren Stute
2005 -- Noble Threewitt
2004 -- Bob Benoit