TOBA Announces Owners, Breeders of the Year-Reddam Racing Top CA Breeder

By Blood-Horse Staff
LEXINGTON, KY (August 3, 2016)-The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association has announced the regional owners and state and Canadian breeders who will be recognized at its National Awards Dinner Sept. 10 at Stonestreet Farm in Lexington.

The regional owners of the year for 2015 are Stonestreet Stables, Eastern region; Ken and Sarah Ramsey, Midwestern region; Zayat Stables, Southern region; and Reddam Racing, Western region.

The state and Canadian breeders of the year are:

Arizona: Triple AAA Ranch
Arkansas: McDowell Farm
California: Reddam Racing
Canada: Tall Oaks Farm
Florida: Jacks or Better Farm
Illinois: Richard & Karen Papiese
Indiana: Justice Farms
Iowa: Poindexter Thoroughbreds
Kansas: Pam M. Davis
Kentucky: Godolphin
Louisiana: Set-Hut
Maryland: Dance Forth Farm
Massachusetts: Langdon Wilby and Mary Beth Reis
Michigan: Campbell Stable
Minnesota: Curtis A. Sampson
New Jersey: Holly Crest Farm
New Mexico: A & A Horse Farm,
New York: Eklektikos Stable
North Carolina: Chandley Farm
North Dakota: Backhaus & Sons
Ohio: 3 Clovers Farm & Blazing Meadows Farm
Oregon: Oakhurst Thoroughbreds
South Carolina: Franklin G. Smith Sr.
Texas: Runaway Farm
Virginia: Keswick Stables
Washington: Coal Creek Farm

TOBA's National Breeder and National Small Breeder of the Year will be announced at the awards dinner. The organization, in partnership with the Equine Land Conservation Resource, also will present the Robert N. Clay Award, which recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.

Littleprincessemma, dam of Triple Crown winner and Horse of the Year American Pharoah, is National Broodmare of the Year, an award that offers catalog designation from the North American International Cataloguing Standards Committee.

In conjunction with Rood & Riddle, a Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year will be honored. The award is presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred racehorse that has excelled in sport horse competition as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation.

The National Horsemen's Benevolent and Protective Association will recognize the Claiming Crown Horse of the Year.

"This year's National Award winners are all very deserving recipients who represent the highest levels of excellence from every racing and breeding region across the United States and Canada," TOBA president Dan Metzger said. "We are honored to recognize each and every one of them on what promises to be a spectacular celebration at Stonestreet Farm."