Eclipse Awards Finalists To Be Announced Jan. 6

by Paulick Report
The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), National Turf Writers And Broadcasters (NTWAB) and Daily Racing Form announced today that finalists for the 2015 Eclipse Awards will be revealed live Wednesday, January 6, at 11:05 a.m. ET from Gulfstream Park Racing & Casino in Hallandale Beach, Fla., on, and all outlets carrying the Gulfstream Park simulcast feed.

Finalists in 17 equine and human categories will be revealed during a 30-minute program hosted by Larry Collmus. The Eclipse Awards, honoring excellence in Thoroughbred racing, are voted upon by designees of the NTRA, NTWAB and Daily Racing Form.

Winners in all categories will be announced at the 45th annual Eclipse Awards, presented by Daily Racing Form, Breeders' Cup and The Stronach Group, on Saturday evening, January 16, at Gulfstream Park.

Tickets to the Eclipse Awards are available for $400 each. Dinner tickets and reservations for the official event hotel – the Diplomat Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton – can be accessed through the NTRA website at For additional information, please contact Casey Hamilton of the NTRA at

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies. The Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Those awards are voted on by designees of the NTRA (racing officials at NTRA member and NTRA Safety & Integrity Alliance-accredited tracks), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB). Eclipse Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.